A Good Year

I started writing Design for Service one year ago today. A few months went by before I realized that I had inadvertently stolen the name from Shelley Evenson’s inaugural Service Design course at Carnegie Mellon. Sorry about that. I learned a lot in that course, but Service Design was a much younger discipline in 2004 and I suspected that there might be limits to what a quarter-long survey could accomplish. So this blog began as a way to continue the exploration.

Over the past year I think Service Design has come into focus. It seems like there’s less of a need to defend the concept of service design. Instead people are focusing on how to do it well. That’s a positive development.

Thanks for coming along on the journey.


  1. actually i think shelley’s class is called “desinging for service” so its not exactly the same. did you take her class?

  2. Jeff

    I came across an old syllabus from the course in some of my papers from grad school. It was called “Design for Service” when I took it, though of course it may have changed since then. This was in the Fall of 2004 when it was just a mini.

  3. I agree, there is less of a need to defend the concept of service design. But there is still a long way to go. So keep up the good work!




Leave a Reply

