Funerals and Co-design

Sorry for the dearth of postings last week. I’ve been on the road for a few days due to a death in the family.

On my way home from the funeral it occurred to me that, as a service, visitations and funerals are second only to weddings when it comes to co-design. They’re one of the few examples in American society where people expect to be intimately involved with the details of service delivery. There’s a cultural “script” that shapes the encounter, but the details of the burial and the ceremony are deeply personal and unique.


  1. I really love your blog and I’m sorry to read that you had a loss in the family. I know this is a month late, but I still wanted to send you my condolences. Hope you are doing well. And thanks for all the amazing insights.

  2. Jeff

    Thanks for the condolences Whitney, and thanks for reading!




Leave a Reply

